About the National Advisory Committee

About the National Advisory Committee

The HSCB National Advisory Committee (HSCB NAC) was an invited group of industry leaders that represented a variety of organizations from across the country. The analyses and recommendations of advisory committee members played an important role in helping the Hospital System Capacity Building Initiative (HSCB) efficient and effective.

HSBC NAC members provided an important link between the public, the ACS, and its Communities of Practice (COP) sites. The information that advisory committee members provided about community/industry needs and opinions had a profound effect on COP sites and the overall ACS hospital systems strategy that led to improved cancer control priorities and identification of population health needs.

We are grateful for the engaged and committed HSCB NAC members who shared their time, knowledge, and expertise for the benefit of the HSCB initiative.

National Advisory Committee Meetings

Paul Aitken, MD, MPH, CPE, FAAFP
Chief Medical Officer
Government Employees Health Association

Andrew Albert, MD, MPH
Medical Director
Advocate Health, Digestive Health Institute

Achal Bhatt, PhD
Partnership and Support Team Lead
CDC and National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases

Michael Bianchi
Vice President
MaineHealth Cancer Care Network

Lori Blanton
Senior Director, Hospital Systems, ACS South Region
American Cancer Society

Connie Bura
Member Services and Administrative Director, Cancer Programs
American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer

Shauntay Davis, MPH
Director, Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
California Department of Public Health

Devi Hawkins
Public Health Analyst
CDC and Center for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Support
National Partnership Branch

Nikki Hayes, MPH
Chief, Comprehensive Cancer Control Branch
CDC Division of Cancer Prevention and Control

Ted James, MD, MHCM
Associate Professor of Surgery
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital

Lori Ludlow
Senior Director, State & Primary Care Systems, ACS West Region, Cancer Control
American Cancer Society

David Meyers, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer
Association for State and Territorial Health Officials

Stacie Scott, BS, HCA, NCMA
Quality Manager
Hillcrest Healthcare System, Utica Park Clinic

Jasmin Tiro, PhD
Associate Professor, Division of Behavioral and Communication Sciences
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Cynthia Vinson, PhD, MPA
Associate Professor, Division of Behavioral and Communication Sciences
National Cancer Institute, Implementation Science Team

Ena Wanliss, MS
National Partnership Lead, Comprehensive Cancer Control Branch, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control

Megan Wessel, MPH
Vice President, Regional Cancer Control, ACS Southeast Region
American Cancer Society

Connie White, MD, MS, FACOG
Senior Deputy Commissioner, Clinical Affairs
Kentucky Department for Public Health